Conversations with the Lower Brain

When I first started my journey into Higher Brain Living, I learned to distinguish the voice of my higher brain from that of my lower brain.  Remember, the lower brain is dominant in the vast majority of people and it does not want to go quietly.  The lower brain has one primary job…to keep you safe.  I discovered my lower brain has my number.  It knows how to manipulate and be very sneaky!  It uses words like “that doesn’t resonate with me” to prevent me from doing things that are actually in the best interests of my personal growth and evolution.  I learned that there can be a very fine line between the voice of my deepest knowing/intuition that is processed by the higher brain and the voice of the lower brain.

The lower brain has a limited number of strategies to prevent us from making change in our lives.  Once you learn these, that is it.  You will know the entire playbook of your lower brain. You will often hear in your head either “there is not enough time” or “I don’t have the money.” The third one that I hear in my head a lot is “that is not very convenient.”  Other common phrases from the lower brain include “this is stupid” or “this is a waste of time” and “what will other people think?” These are the go to strategies of the lower brain.  Just start observing how many times you hear these sayings in your head.  You are probably saying to yourself, “but I really don’t have the time or money.” Now let’s look at what is true.  The lower brain keeps you very busy by resisting, overwhelming, worrying, shoulding, dreading, blaming, distracting, wasting, comparing, avoiding, protecting, procrastinating, competing and confusing.  So of course you think you don’t have enough time or money! The ability to make sustainable change, as well as time and financial management skills, reside in the higher brain.

Just start paying attention to the voices in your head.  Everyone has voices in their head.  Anyone that tells you they don’t is dead.  My lower brain tends to speak fast and be impatient. It tends to try to convince me of things.  I know when I hear the voice of my lower brain that I am not in the present moment.  When I first returned from India I would hear “blah, blah, blah” whenever my lower brain was rambling on about something all the time.  This is starting to happen again with Higher Brain Living.  When I am tired, ill or stressed the voice of the lower brain is loud.  Early in the morning, after yoga or meditation the voice of my lower brain is usually the most quiet.

Get to know the voice of your lower brain.  It is not going away anytime soon and you still need your lower brain’s fight or flight response if you encounter real danger.  Your lower brain is not your enemy.  It evolved at a time when the environment was predator rich and a human needed a high alert system to stay alive.  For a large percentage of human beings on the planet today, this is not the case. Those of us that have the luxury of having our basic needs met need to evolve from living in this lower survival brain so that we can thrive and innovate by living in our higher brain.  It is only then that we can help and lead those that live in environments that are still very predator rich.  Become an observer of the conversation that is already happening in your head rather than a victim to it.  You will be glad you did.

Leave a Reply

